jump to navigation

1:30am Drama January 29, 2007

Posted by pcorcoran in Connor, Family, Parenting, Personal.
trackback

Last night’s middle-of-the-night drama was a doozy. Susanna woke me up because Connor was crying, and I went into his room to check up on him. It was dark, and I whispered. “What’s wrong?”

“I barfed,” he cried.

I told him to cover his eyes, and I turned on the light. The poor little guy had vomit on his face and all over his pillow and bedding. There was evidence of peas from his dinner and even pinto beans from his lunch yesterday.

Susanna and I cleaned it all up. She wiped him down with a warm, wet towel while I was spraying the solid stuff off into the kitchen sink and putting a bundle together for a 2am load of laundry. By the time I got back from the laundry room downstairs he was already back asleep on his fresh bedding.

He woke up one more time needing to vomit. He threw up everything until there was nothing left. I held him as he hurled into the toilet. It was impossible not to feel his pain.

That seemed to be the end of it. After spending 45 minutes or so in our bed for comfort, he was carried back into his room by Susanna. This morning he claimed not to remember any of it, but there was a little glimmer of a fib in his eye as he said it.

There is really nothing in life which compares to parenting when it comes to being put into completely unforeseen situations. Kids are magnificent little engines of entropy.

Comments»

1. STH - January 30, 2007

A comment, more of a question, really, that is totally unrelated to this post…happened to find this blog whilst killing time at work…are you the Patrick Corcoran who attended Cornell University in the late eighties/ early nineties? I am not a strange stalker-guy but went to school for a short while with a guy by that name who I lost touch with…

2. DBcoolDad - January 30, 2007

Are you the Patrick Corcoran who was born in Millington, TN, attended Cornell College, and later played lead guitar for Blue Oyster Cult? If so, I don’t believe we’ve ever met…

3. pcorcoran - February 1, 2007

Hi Sean! Yeah, it’s me. I sent you an email at the address you registered with here.

4. STH - February 1, 2007

You did? I didn’t receive it…maybe they have you pegged as an evil spammer…drop me a line at sueandsean@comcast.net…that’s the home address…would love to hear how you are doing and see pictures of the lil’ chip off the ol’ block…

(laughing) When I read the phrase “Kids are magnificent little engines of entropy”, I knew that I had the right guy!
Cheers
Sean


Leave a Reply

